Recreational marijuana possession is illegal in Illinois
Many states across the country have legalized marijuana for both medical and recreational use. While medical marijuana is legal in Illinois, growing or possessing marijuana, in any form, for recreational purposes is illegal and can result in criminal charges.
Charges for drug crimes can stem from carrying marijuana on your person or possessing it in your car or having it in your home. The severity of your charges will depend on the quantity of the cannabis in your possession. If you possess less than 2.5 grams, you could face a Class C misdemeanor charge and face up to 30 days in jail and up to $1,500 in fines. If you possess 2.5 grams to 10 grams, you could face a Class B misdemeanor charge, resulting in up to 180 days in jail and up to $1,500 in fines. Possessing 10 to 30 grams for a first-time offender qualifies as a Class A misdemeanor charge, which could lead to up to one year in jail and up to $2,500 in fines. Any quantities over 30 grams are generally considered Class 4 felonies, which could result in three to 15 years in jail and up to $25,000 in fines, depending on the quantity.
If you have a significant amount of marijuana in your possession, you could be charged with possession with the intent to sell. Selling a small amount of marijuana (10 grams or less) is typically considered a misdemeanor, whereas larger quantities could result in felony charges.
Until recreational marijuana is legalized, it is important to note that possession of even the smallest amount of marijuana for recreational use can still result in criminal charges. If you have been charged with marijuana possession, a criminal defense attorney can help protect your rights in court.