Underage drunk driving charges in Illinois
If you are the parent of a teen who drives, or you are a driver under the age of 21, you need to take a close look at underage drunk driving laws. Every year, many young people across the state of Illinois face serious consequences as a result of DUI charges, and some young people do not even realize that they could find themselves in this position as a result of a small amount of alcohol.
If these charges have surfaced, you need to take steps to protect your future (or your child’s future).
Zero tolerance and underage drunk driving
The Illinois State Police published information on underage drunk driving, and they state that it is against the law for drivers under the age of 21 to operate a motor vehicle with any alcohol in their system. If a law enforcement officer stops a driver under 21 and detects any alcohol in their system, they could lose their driving privileges and face other penalties.
Sometimes, young drivers do not understand how alcohol affects them, or they do not realize that a drink contained alcohol. Moreover, peer pressure plays a role in many underage DUI cases.
The penalties for underage drunk driving
Drivers under 21 can lose their license for two years, or up to 10 years if they have multiple offenses on their record. Underage DUI charges can lead to a $2,500 fine for the first conviction, and up to $25,000 for a third conviction. Moreover, young drivers could have to spend months or years behind bars. Make sure you understand what is at stake and examine your options if you are preparing for an underage DUI case.