What You Need to Know about Battery Charges in Illinois
In Illinois, the crime of battery addresses a range of actions that can vary considerably. If you are facing battery charges, it’s important to be aware of the fact that if you are convicted, it could result in significant legal and collateral consequences, including fines and jail time. One of the most important steps you can take in the face of a battery charge is reaching out for the skilled legal guidance of an experienced Illinois criminal defense attorney.
The charge of battery applies when the accused knowingly and without legal justification causes someone else to suffer bodily harm. While less common, the charge can also apply to coming in physical contact – of any kind – with the other person in a manner that either provokes or insults them.
Battery charges are often levied when fights break out. As noted, however, the charge of battery can relate to touch of any kind, which includes touching someone else with something or even spitting on someone else – when the intent to provoke or insult is present. Accidentally sneezing on someone whom you’re passing on the bus, for example, will not suffice.
Battery charges range from simple through aggravated to domestic battery, and understanding the distinctions is key.
While simple battery is the least serious of the battery charges, it is a criminal charge that can lead to serious social and financial consequences – as well as jail time. For a simple battery charge to apply, harming the other person isn’t required – it’s enough for the contact to insult or provoke them. The charge of simple battery is a Class A misdemeanor, which comes with up to 30 days of jail time and fines of up to $1,500.
Aggravated battery refers to the act of battery when it causes the other person to suffer great bodily harm, disability, or disfigurement, and the basis of the aggravation can include any one of the following:
- The location in which the battery occurred
- The victim’s status, such as if they are an elderly person, a person with a disability, a pregnant person, or a child
- The victim’s occupation, such as if they are a police officer, firefighter, or security officer
- The use of a firearm
- The degree to which the victim was injured
The charge of domestic battery applies when the accused batters someone in their household – whether or not they are related to one another. Domestic battery charges can apply to all the following victims:
- One’s spouse
- One’s former spouse
- One’s child or stepchild
- A relative
- Someone with whom one shares a dwelling or used to share a dwelling
- Someone with whom one shares a child or shares a blood relationship through a child
Seek the Legal Guidance of an Experienced Illinois Criminal Defense Attorney Today
If you’re facing a charge of battery – or any other criminal charge – the formidable Illinois criminal defense attorneys at Madelyn Daley & Associates are well-positioned to provide you with a strong legal defense. We have an imposing reputation for successfully resolving even challenging cases, and we’ll leave no stone unturned in our quest to help you. Learn more by contacting or calling us at 618-732-4115 today.