What Do Illinois Laws Say About Underage DUI?
Illinois’ zero-tolerance law requires all drivers under the age of 21 who are suspected of DUI to submit to chemical testing of the breath, blood, and/or other bodily substances to determine if they are under the influence.
Penalties for Underage DUI
If an underage driver fails or refuses any of these tests, they will face a zero-tolerance license suspension. If the underage driver submits and their BAC is over 0.00% but under 0.08%, they will face a three-month or one-year suspension if this is a second offense. If the underage driver refuses to submit to a test, they will face six months of license suspension or two years if this is a second offense. To get their license back, the driver must take a driver’s education course and retake their driving test.
If convicted in court, a driver convicted of underage DUI in Illinois may face a class A misdemeanor charge as well as
- 364 days in jail
- A $2,500 fine
If the driver had a passenger under 16, they might face an additional six months in jail, a minimum of a $1,000 fine, and 25 days of required community service in a program beneficial to children. If the defendant’s BAC was over 0.16%, they could face an additional $500 fine and 100 hours of community service.
If you or a loved one is under investigation for underage DUI, you need to get in touch with an experienced and aggressive attorney as soon as possible. Do not wait until it is too late.